Saturday, May 9, 2015

Inopacan has been declared Insurgent-Free

Leyte Bantay Bayanihan Forum
The participants of the Leyte Bantay Bayanihan Forum held at the 19th Infantry Battalion camp in Brgy. Aguiting, Kananga, Leyte on April 14, 2015.
The following article is a reprint from Samar News

Leyte-Bantay Bayanihan holds forum at Army camp in Leyte

By 19th Infantry Battalion, 8ID PA

April 16, 2015

 KANANGA, Leyte – A civil society-led initiative that aims to create an oversight body over the armed forces, including defense and security policies, holds its quarterly meeting here on Tuesday, April 14, 2015.

The Leyte-Bantay Bayanihan, which was successfully launched at the Visayas State University (VSU) in Baybay City, June 23 last year, facilitated its forum inside 19th Infantry Battalion’s camp for the first time.

The forum, dubbed as the “Security Sector-Leyte BB Team Building Activity and Dialogue” was conducted to pursue partnership with the security sector, particularly the AFP and to evaluate its implementation of the Internal Peace and Security Plan (IPSP) “Bayanihan”.

During the forum, Lt. Col. Nedy Espulgar and Lt. Col. Allan Jose Taguba, battalion commanders of 19IB and 78IB, respectively, presented the “bayanihan” accomplishment of their units for the first quarter of calendar year 2015.

It was learned that nine out of 37 municipalities in the province of Leyte were already declared insurgency-free. The said towns are Matag-ob, Merida, Palompon, Matalom, Bato, Inopacan, Dulag, Tabon-tabon, and Tabango. Efforts are already being made to declare other towns as well as cities as insurgency-free.

In his message, Col. Dinoh Dolina, commander of the 802nd Infantry Brigade stated that the military is now giving more emphasis on resolving the root causes of insurgency. This can be manifested in the military’s various peace and development initiatives, especially in far flung barangays which are barely reached by the services of the local government.

“As catalyzers, we tried to fill the gaps between the communities and the government”, he stressed. Col. Dolina likewise vowed to fully support the Leyte-Bantay Bayanihan and its initiatives.

The forum also includes conflict resolution workshops which Col. Dolina himself and his two battalion commanders has ably participated in.
Other participants of the activity were Ms. Imelda Bonifacio, area manager of the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP), and representatives from Civil Society Organizations and media networks from Ormoc and Tacloban City.

In her presentation, Ms. Gina Ragudo, the LBB convenor discussed that the core objective of Bantay Bayanihan is to reform the security sector institutions so that they are transparent, respectful of the Rule of Law, Human Rights and International Humanitarian Law, and accountable to democratic civilian authority.

She furthered that “Security Sector Reform” is an important component of peace building, democratization and development”.

news credit to See original article here

Thursday, April 30, 2015

Cuatro Islas - the Boracay of Leyte

The Cuatro Islas of Inopacan described by news anchor Arnold "Egan" Claudio and Pia Arcangel as the "Boracay of Leyte."  

Video credit to SAKSI (

If you can't open the video clip (above), try clicking the image (below) or click here.
To know more about Cuatro Islas, click here 

Photo credit to Saksi GMA of 

Related GMA news:
                            video credit to GMA News Online
                          Click here to view original video 

Friday, January 30, 2015

FALLEN 44 : Thank you for your service PO2 Ephraim "Buk" G. Mejia

Police Officer 2 Ephrain Garcia Mejia of the PNP-SAF. (First name is not Emphraim as shown in the photo printed by local dailies.)

PO2 Ephraim Garcia Mejia is No. 32 in the list of fallen 44 PNP-Special Action Force (SAF) troopers who were killed in action in that fateful Mamasapano clash of PNP-SAF against Moro Islamic Liebration Front (MILF), Bangsamoro Islamic Freedom Fighter (BIFF) and some unidentified private armies in the cornfield of Mamasapano, Maguindanao (of mainland Mindanao) last January 25, 2015 (Sunday). PO2 EGMejia was 33 years old when he died.

Actually, PO2 EGMejia was not from Inopacan, Leyte. He was from San Nicolas, Pangasinan (western Luzon). He was a distant relative to us most who are Inopacnons.

Information gathered about PO2 EGMejia are the following:
  • He was a native from San Nicolas, Pangasinan (western Luzon) 
  • He lived in Pasay City (Metro Manila).
  • He was married to Mea Varona-Mejia.
  • He finished his BS Criminology course at the Pangasinan Colleges of Science and Technology (PCST) of Pangasinan and he belonged to class 2003.
  • Police Officer 2 Ephraim Garcia Mejia (alyas Buk) with PNP Badge No. 191657 was an active member of Philippine National Police - Special Action Force (PNP-SAF) from December 2008. 
  • He belonged to PSBRC CLASS 2008-02 (a.k.a. PINAG-ALAB CLASS). 
  • He was a veteran of Zamboanga Siege in September 2013 and was the Operator of Zamboanga area.
  • He received the medal and award of the Medalya Ng Kadakilaan as published under DPRM GO# 1426 dated September 16, 2014 given for his courage and gallantry in action during fierce firefight with more or less 600 members of the Moro National Liberation Front led by Habier Malik in Barangays Rio Hondo, Santa Catalina, Santa Barbara, Mampang and Talon-talon, Zamboanga City from September 9 to 29 that resulted in the death of 25, arrest of 143 and surrender of 38 MNLF members; Rescue of 13 hostages, recovery of 34 long firearms, and three (3) short firearms, assorted magazines and ammunition, two (2) laptops, assorted documents and other personal belongings.

Thank you, Ephraim, for your service of keeping our Freedom to live from terrorists. We are proud of all the fallen, the wounded, and the survivor TAGALIGTAS.

We your parientes are very sad we lost you. Rest in peace.

Our condolence to the Mejia clan.

See related FB post from Inopacnons Global Family (IGF).

See PO2 Mejia's photos from his FB account here:

See Youtube of PO2 Mejia's batch in PSBRC Pinag-alab class while in training:

More videos of Pinag-alab recognition day:

Related GMA news featuring names of Fallen 44

#Fallen44 #SAFmassacre #PO2EphraimGMejia #SAFtroopers #PNPSAF #KilledInAction #SAFHeroes #PNP #MamasapanoMassacre #FallenHeroes #Tagaligtas #PO2Mejia #RestInPeace44 #MamasapanoIncident #MaguindanaoMassacre #misencounter #SAFmisencounter #MamasapanoMisencounter #SAFCommandos #BIFF #MILF #MamasapanoClash #heroic44